Know God – Trust God

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in You” Psalm 56:3 (NIV).

I had not given a lot of thought that there is a difference between knowing God and trusting God. But after a trail ride with my horse, I now understand this more fully.

I’ve had my horse, Reecie, for years. Many years. For so long that I know what she knows and what she doesn’t know – because I didn’t teach it to her. I know what she likes. Things like grass, hay, grain, being brushed, her friends. I know what she doesn’t like. Bug bites, honey or cinnamon flavored treats, being by herself. I also know that she’s never been truly asked to test her physical capabilities. I’d never fully given her my trust.

Yet, on July 12 she was put to the test. After being persuaded by friends, I took her on a two hour trail ride in Hitchcock Woods, Aiken, SC. Reecie rose to the task of carrying the burden of an overweight middle-aged rider (me), up and down hills that looked daunting to my eye. I learned what it meant to trust that she not only COULD carry me through but that she WOULD carry me.

20160712_100512

We can know God by reading His word. It tells us what He likes, what He doesn’t like. But until we fully trust that He not only CAN but WILL carry us through the things we find daunting, we’re missing out on a lot of the beauty in life.

I’m thankful that I trusted Reecie to carry me and she trusted me to guide her. Because of this shared trust we both enjoyed a lovely trail ride and our relationship has grown stronger.

I’m thankful that I can trust God to carry me through life’s challenges as well.

Know God, Trust God. Your relationship with Him will be stronger.

“LORD Almighty, blessed is the one who trusts in You” Psalm 84:12 (NIV).

About paynefulponderings

Cindy enjoys time with God, her family, and her friends. Writing is her way of sharing how God has worked in her life in hopes of helping others see Him. She stays busy as a wife, mother, grandmother, and caretaker/owner of four horses, two dogs, and five cats.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

