Feral On Any Given Day

From dictionary.com definition 2:
Feral – having reverted to the wild state, as from domestication

Before I got her, Holly was a neglected backyard pony with a different name. Her interactions with people during that time were primarily negative and she became shy, wary, afraid, feral. Taking matters into her own hands (so to speak) she decided that people were safer from a distance. Catching her became a real challenge. It took over two hours to catch her during her “rescue” and she is still feral on any given day.

Over the years, Holly has been extensively handled and behaves quite nicely, once she’s caught. The challenge to catch her no longer takes two hours, but sometimes I choose to stop, if catching her isn’t totally necessary that day. If she doesn’t want to do what she thinks I’m going to ask of her she is still feral on any given day.

Now, Holly has learned that I am not going to be primarily negative, and that most interactions between us will benefit her. Being brushed and having the itchy bug bites treated; getting food, hay, or carrots; playing games that result in rewards; these are the things that usually happen when I do catch her. Still, often she doesn’t want what I’m offering and is feral on any given day.

On occasion there are times that I am going to ask her to do something she’s not comfortable with. Getting vaccinations is right up there at the top of the list. So is getting separated from her horse friends. (Riding her is not an option due to physical and emotional trauma in her earlier life.) Since she doesn’t know ahead of time whether she’s going to experience a rewarding situation or an uncomfortable one, she’s still feral on any given day.

I’ve discovered that I am also ‘feral on any given day’. There are days where I run from God, I don’t want to be caught, I don’t want what He may be offering – just in case it might make me uncomfortable or might be something I don’t want to do. Sometimes I just want to do my own thing and not even look at what His possibilities may be. Just as Holly may miss out on being brushed or given carrots on days I can’t catch her, I may be missing out on some of God’s blessing as I try to avoid Him.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose” Romans 8:28 (NIV).

What about you, have you also been ‘feral on any given day.’ Let’s all be more receptive to what God has for us, whether rewarding or uncomfortable it’s all going to be in our best interest. Let’s allow God to ‘catch us’, no longer being feral on any given day.

About paynefulponderings

Cindy enjoys time with God, her family, and her friends. Writing is her way of sharing how God has worked in her life in hopes of helping others see Him. She stays busy as a wife, mother, grandmother, and caretaker/owner of four horses, two dogs, and five cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

