Content Whatever the Circumstances

Several weeks ago I struggled with pending changes in my horse life, my horses’ living arrangements, in my financial situation. I lost sleep dwelling on the potential outcomes of these changes, fighting with myself over what would be the best decisions. I wrote about my struggle in Resistant to Change.docx

As I turned to God in the midst of this emotional battle, once again, He uses my horses to teach me the lesson He offers.
“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned
to be content whatever the circumstances” Philippians 4:11. (NIV)

My friend sold her farm. Many reasons suggested it would be best for me to find a new home for my horses. I began searching and talking to a few horse people in the area. My horses moved to the new place at the beginning of September.

A few minutes after arrival this is the level of their “struggle” with changing homes.

content-with-food

Soon they discover other resources have been provided for them.

content-with-water
My horses adjusted quickly to their new home. I realized that the safety, security, and constancy of having what they needed, and familiar people involved in their care, brought them a contentment instead of “resistance to change”.

Just as my presence gave them a comfort and contentment, I can be content in my circumstances because I know –
“God, who is enthroned from of old, who does not change . . .” Psalm 55:1. (NIV)

Later that same week, my granddaughter is bathing ‘her’ horse. The others stand close to the spray of the water, enjoying their new home. They are content because they rely on us to take care of them.

content-with-location
“The fear of the Lord leads to life; then one rests content, untouched by trouble” Proverbs 19:23. (NIV)

Rest content in the Lord, allow Him to be your constant Presence. Be content, whatever your circumstances.

About paynefulponderings

Cindy enjoys time with God, her family, and her friends. Writing is her way of sharing how God has worked in her life in hopes of helping others see Him. She stays busy as a wife, mother, grandmother, and caretaker/owner of four horses, two dogs, and five cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

