God Is Calling, Are You Listening?

This morning, during a time of quiet reflection, I desired to empty my busy mind of thoughts and troubles. Just to free head space so I could hear God. There are many Bible verses, and times of despair, that tell us to call out to God.

But truly, He’s the One doing the calling. He calls us to draw close to Him in our times of trouble. He calls us to seek Him in our times of decisions. He calls us to share the gospel. He calls us, like Peter, to feed “His sheep.” He calls us to salvation.

I then thought of a child, lost in the woods, looking for his father. The father, desperate to find his child, calls out. Speaks loudly, hollers even, the name of his child, and “Where are you?” God does this continually, from generations past:

“Then the man and his wife heard the sound of the Lord God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and they hid from the Lord God among the trees of the garden. But the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you?”, Genesis 3:8-9 (NIV).

Then this afternoon I get a call about a white horse, loose near a friend’s house. I take care of a white horse that lives with that friend. And a brown horse.

I wracked my brain,

Did I not latch the gate correctly?

Is it the horses I take care of?

Is it someone else’s horse?

Will I get there in time?

As I spoke on the phone, my brain racing with the above thoughts, the store clerk who overheard the conversation asked me, “How will you catch them? Will they come when you call?”

Now, I’m not sure if they would come when I called. I would like to hope so. Especially since I would be calling to take them home, to bring them back to safety.

How about you, do you hear God calling?

 “Listen and come to Me. Hear, so you may live. And I will make an agreement with you that lasts forever, because of the faithful love promised to David”, Isaiah 55:3 (NLT).

About paynefulponderings

Cindy enjoys time with God, her family, and her friends. Writing is her way of sharing how God has worked in her life in hopes of helping others see Him. She stays busy as a wife, mother, grandmother, and caretaker/owner of four horses, two dogs, and five cats.
This entry was posted in horses, life lessons, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God Is Calling, Are You Listening?

  1. Nice job! This really made me think about the “Sheep hear the Shepherd’s voice.” It also made me wonder, did the horse respond when you called? Yes, we need to listen to the Lord’s voice. He knows our name, He loves us. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

